Shop now

Left for Guaranteed UK Christmas delivery, shop now!

Wolves U23s are travelling to Chesterfield in the Checkatrade Trophy

Wolves U23s travel to the Proact Stadium to take on Chesterfield in the Checkatrade Trophy on Tuesday evening.

I think it’s going to be a really tough night for the boys but a really good experience."

Scott Sellars

Formerly the Johnstone's Paint Trophy, this will be Wolves' first game in the cup competition since it was re-formatted over the summer.

The young Wolves side will take on a Spireites team that have enjoyed a good start to their Sky Bet League 1 season and must field a minimum of five senior players.

But the Under 23s approach Tuesday's game on the back of a convincing 3-1 win over local rivals West Bromwich Albion in the PL2 on Friday night.

Speaking ahead of the game, the U23s Coach said: “I think it’s going to be tough, we’re going to be playing against men.

“They’ve got to play a minimum of six senior players from their first team on Saturday afternoon.

“I’ve been to watch them once and they’re a good team and, in Ched Evans, they’ve got somebody who can really score goals.

“We think it’s going to be a tough game but, depending if we get any first team players, it could be a bit different. 

“I think it’s going to be a really tough night for the boys but a really good experience."

“As we’ve always said, we’re looking for challenges for them and stepping stones for them.


“A lot of these lads went to Northampton and played in pre-season and gave a good account of themselves. I think that will hold them in good stead. Now they’ve got to go and do that on Tuesday in a proper game in front of a crowd with something on it. I’m really looking forward to it."
Scott Sellars



Jon Flatt, Aaron Simpson, Ben O’Hanlon, Morgan Gibbs-White, Connor Johnson, Ethan Ebanks-Landell, Connor Ronan, Christian Herc, Nouha Dicko, Bright Enobakhare, Will Randall, Hakeem Odoffin, Harry Burgoyne, Aaron Hayden, Ryan Leak, Regan Upton, Dan McKenna, Conor Levingston, Ross Finnie, Joe Delacoe, Donovan Wilson, Aaron Collins.