FA Youth Cup run comes to an end

Chelsea 7 (Maatsen 26, Lewis 37, 42 & 77, Anjorin 40, Peart-Harris 80, Simons 85) Wolves 0

Wolves under-18s crashed out of the FA Youth Cup when Steve Davis’ young side fell to a humbling 7-0 defeat to Chelsea in the fifth round of the historic competition.

The under-18s had the chance to take the lead early on in the contest in Aldershot, when Theo Corbeanu stepped up to take a penalty, but his dinked effort was saved by Jake Askew. Just minutes later, it was the hosts who went ahead as Ian Maatsen fired past Joe Young.

Lewis Richards had to be at his best to prevent Armando Broja from doubling Chelsea’s advantage as he stormed through on goal, but the Wolves defender was helpless to stop the Blues from making it two when Broja squared for Marcel Lewis who tucked the ball home.

Chelsea went in 4-0 up at half-time after Tino Anjorin powered through and slid past Young, before Lewis got his second of the evening when he robbed the ball from Young and tapped home.

After soaking up much of Chelsea’s second-half pressure, the hosts finally found a way through as Lewis completed his hat-trick with just 15 minutes of the match remaining. The forward made no mistake from the spot as he powered in his penalty.

By full-time, Chelsea had secured a 7-0 scoreline due to goals by substitute Myles Peart-Harris, who netted from close-range, and Xavier Simons, who finished off when he was played through on goal, securing the Blues’ place in the quarter-finals.


The under-18s return to U18 Premier League North action on Saturday as Steve Davis’ side take on Sunderland at the Sir Jack Hayward Training Ground sponsored by Fosun International, with kick-off at 1pm.


15/02 Sunderland (H)

22/02 Middlesbrough (H)

29/02 West Bromwich Albion (A)

14/03 Manchester City (A)

21/03 Everton (A)


Chelsea: Askew, Lawrence, Maatsen, Bate, Simeu, Livramento, Colwill, Simons, Lewis, Anjorin, Broja.

Subs: Wady, Wiggett, Humphreys, Rankine, Ballo, Peart-Harris, Nunn.

Wolves: Young, Scott, Estrada, Marques, Richards, Bueno, Parker, Cundle, Corbeanu, Hesketh, Carty.

Subs: Smith, Tipton, Kandola, Lonwijk, Abbey, Birtwistle, Hodnett.