Internationals | Portugal win inaugural Nations League title

Wolves’ Portuguese quartet of Rui Patricio, Ruben Neves, Joao Moutinho and Diogo Jota have helped their country become the first ever winners of the UEFA Nations League.

Portugal are the inaugural winners of the competition after overcoming the Netherlands in a 1-0 final victory in Porto on Sunday evening, with Patricio starring between the posts as he made several key saves to maintain his clean sheet.

The midfield pair of Moutinho and Neves also spent time on the pitch during the final, with the more experienced of the two coming on after 81 minutes after Goncalo Guedes had put their side into the lead, while Neves was an added time replacement for William Carvalho.

Despite still not making his senior debut for his country, Jota also came away with a winner’s medal and was joined by his fellow Wolves players and the Nations League trophy for an unforgettable photo following the post-match presentation.

Elsewhere this weekend, Raul Jimenez played just over an hour in Mexico’s 3-2 friendly win over Ecuador in the team’s final warm-up game prior to the start of the 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup which kicks off on Saturday.

Jimenez, who made his debut as captain for Mexico against Venezuela last week, was unable to get on the scoresheet as his country made it two wins from two in the build up to the biennial North and Central American competition.

Mexico’s first game of the tournament will be against Cuba from 12am on Saturday 15th June.

Connor Ronan guided his Republic of Ireland under-21 side into the knockout stages of the Toulon Tournament after his 33rd minute free-kick, which wrong-footed Bahrain keeper Ahmed Mohamed, secured a 1-0 win and top place in the group C table – ahead of Mexico on goal difference.

The midfielder played almost 80 minutes of Ireland’s third and final group game, with the team now set to take on Brazil in the semi-finals on Wednesday.

In the Euro 2020 qualifiers, Leander Dendoncker and Matt Doherty were both unused substitutes for Belgium in their 3-0 win over Kazakhstan and the Republic of Ireland in their 1-1 draw with Denmark respectively.

Ireland will now take on Gibraltar from 7.45pm this evening, while Belgium face Scotland at 7.45pm on Tuesday night.