New Hall Of Fame Inductees

New quartet to join the legends

Wolves are delighted to reveal the names of the next four legends to be inducted into the club’s Hall of Fame.

The legends will be inducted at this year’s Former Players’ Association annual dinner, taking place at Molineux on Wednesday, June 28th.

The Hall of Fame committee has met and tackled the unenviable task of deciding who should be added to the illustrious list of former players, teams and managers already inducted.

The four new inductees, spanning Wolves’ history, will be Jack Brodie, Dennis Westcott, Frank Munro and Andy Thompson. Details on the four’s history with Wolves can be found below.

Their contribution to Wolves’ history will be marked at the FPA dinner, which is has been billed as the ‘Friendly Foes’ with speakers Tony Brown, Kenny Burns and Tony Morley re-living their memories of facing Wolves.

“We are delighted to be announcing the four legends who are going to be inducted into the Hall of Fame,” said Richard Green, from the Wolves Former Players Association.

“As ever it was a really difficult choice with so many other players and managers who could have been selected, and who no doubt will be over the coming years.

“The Hall of Fame was a fantastic idea, and there were some great evenings at Molineux in its early years.

“With the Former Players’ Association now working very closely with the club, the plan for now is to bring the Hall of Fame in alongside our annual dinner.

“Hopefully this will give the opportunity for the inductees, or the families of the inductees, to see their fantastic achievements honoured and celebrated by both former Wolves players, and the club’s supporters.”


*The club, along with the Express & Star, are hoping to trace any relatives of Jack Brodie or Dennis Westcott in advance of the dinner.  Please contact or call the Molineux switchboard on 0871 222 2220 if you have any information.




JACK BRODIE (1872-1925)

Jack Brodie, whose real name was John, was born in Wightwick and founded Wolves in 1877 along with John Baynton.

He was a prolific goalscorer befoe and after the formation of the Football League in 1888, and played in Wolves’ first league and FA Cup fixtures, scoring the club’s first FA Cup goal.

He captained Wolves to their first trophy – the 1884 Wrekin Cup, and the 1889 FA Cup Final.

He scored 44 goals in 65 appearances for the club.

Brodie was the second Wolves player to gain international recognition, and the first to captain England, which he did when winning the first of his three caps, scoring in a 6-1 defeat of Ireland at Anfield in 1889.  He later becamse a Wolves director.



Dennis Westcott is one of Wolves’ truly great centre forwards.

His total of 38 league goals in the 1946/47 season, 60 years ago, remains a club record for one season.

In the 1938/39 campaign, his 43 goals in all competitions helped Major Frank Buckley’s side finish runners-up in both the First Division and the FA Cup.

Born in Wallasey, Westcott won four wartime caps for England, scoring a hat trick against Wales against Wembley.

For many years, Westcott’s silhouette adorned the cover of the club programme.

All in all he notched 124 goals in 144 appearances.


FRANK MUNRO (1947-2011)

Frank Munro was a skilful midfielder who was converted into a central defender.

His natural ball control and ability to read the game saw him capped nine times by Scotland, and make 371 appearances for Wolves, scoring nine goals.

Born in Broughty Ferry in Dundee, he could have left Wolves had Bill McGarry not switched him to centre half.

Munro helped Wolves reach the 1972 UEFA Cup Final, was a member of the 1974 League Cup winning side, and captained Wolves to the 1977 Second Division title.


ANDY THOMPSON (born 1967)

Andy Thompson signed for Wolves 30 years ago last November, and went on to make 451 appearances in an 11-year stay at Molineux.

He also notched 45 goals, and cemented his status as the undoubted penalty king of his Wolves era.

Born in Featherstone, Thompson joined Wolves from West Bromwich Albion along with a previous Hall of Fame inductee and club Vice-President Steve Bull.

He epitomised versatility, playing in pretty much every position for Wolves but perhaps most as a full back.

He was part of the Wolves revival of the late 1980s which saw the club bounce back from near extinction to win successive Fourth and Third Division championships, and the Sherpa Van Trophy at Wembley in 1988.

Thompson is now a PE teacher as well as continuing to be closely associated with Wolves as a summariser on Wolves Player HD and Signal 107’s matchday commentary.






2009: Steve Bull, Stan Cullis, Ron Flowers, Jackery Jones, Derek Parkin, Billy Wright.


2010: Mike Bailey, Peter Broadbent, Billy Harrison, John Richards, Bill Slater, Graham Turner, Bert Williams.


2011: Derek Dougan, Sir Jack Hayward, Kenny Hibbitt, Jimmy Mullen, Roy Swinbourne, the 2003 Play off Final team.


2013: Major Frank Buckley, Victory over Honved, Malcolm Finlayson, Andy Mutch, Dave Wagstaffe.


2015: Johnny Hancocks, John McAlle.