A guide to the Europa League last 32 draw

Wolves will today discover who they will be facing in the Europa League round of 32 after qualifying for the knockout stages of the competition.

The draw for the second round of the main Europa League stages takes place at 12pm (UK time) this afternoon in Nyon, Switzerland, but how will it work?

Broadcast live on the UEFA website here, the draw features the 12 Europa League group winners and 12 runners-up – including Wolves – plus eight teams transferring from the UEFA Champions League after finishing third in their respective groups.

The 32 teams will be split between seeded and unseeded, with the group winners and the four highest-ranked Champions League third place sides being seeded and the other 16 unseeded.

After coming runners-up in Group K, Wolves will be in the unseeded pot for the draw, meaning they will be guaranteed to be paired up with one of the seeded teams – but due to the rule that stipulates no team can play a club from their Europa League group, or a side from the same national association, Wolves will avoid matches against Arsenal, Manchester United and Braga.

The following 32 teams make up the draw (Wolves cannot be drawn against sides in italics):


Ajax (NED)
Basel (SUI)
Benfica (POR)
Braga (POR)
Celtic (SCO)
Espanyol (ESP)
Gent (BEL)
Inter Milan (ITA)
Istanbul Basaksehir (TUR)
Malmo (SWE)
Manchester United
Porto (POR)
Salzburg (AUT)
Sevilla (ESP)


AZ Alkmaar (NED)
Bayer Leverkusen (GER)
CFR Cluj (ROU)
Club Brugge (BEL)
Copenhagen (DEN)
Eintracht Frankfurt (GER)
Getafe (ESP)
Ludogorets (BUL)
Olympiacos (GRE)
Rangers (SCO)
Roma (ITA)
Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)
Sporting CP (POR)
Wolfsburg (GER)

Draw procedure

During the draw, two bowls will be prepared, one containing balls with the seeded teams and the other containing balls including the names of the unseeded sides. The balls will be drawn one at a time to eventually pitch all seeded teams against an unseeded team.

The first legs of the last 32 will take place on Thursday 20th February at the home stadium of the unseeded teams, before the second leg ties on Thursday 27th February where the seeded teams will be the home.

Kick-off times for the matches will be split between 5.55pm and 8pm (UK time), which will be decided following the draw.

Please note, as in the group stages, loyalty points will be used to determine ticket priority for Wolves' away fixture on Thursday 27th February. Supporters who are believe they are unlikely to have sufficient loyalty points are advised not to make travel arrangements until such point as our allocation is confirmed.

Full fixture details, including kick-off times and ticket allocation, will be announced on wolves.co.uk and across the club’s social media channels as soon as they are confirmed.