Gibbs-White begins ePL Invitational quest

Morgan Gibbs-White will hope to emulate Diogo Jota as the ePremier League Invitational winner when he represents Wolves in the second edition of the competition on Wednesday.

The youngster will be Jota's successor after his Portuguese teammate tasted success in the inaugural competition, and has been drawn against Brighton & Hove Albion’s Aaron Connolly in the round of 16 stage.

Gibbs-White will kick-off against the Seagulls at 4pm on Wednesday 6th May, live on Wolves TV.

All club representatives, current or former players or celebrity fans, differ from the previous tournament, meaning the likes of Phil Foden, James Maddison and Callum Wilson are representing their clubs this time.

On the opening day of the competition, a qualification stage which Gibbs-White received a bye for, Spurs’ Ryan Sessegnon, Burnley’s Charlie Taylor and Manchester United celebrity participant Jofra Archer made it into the last 16.

The tournament, streamed live on Wolves TV here and Wolves eSports Twitch here, will also continue to urge everyone to follow official advice by staying home and saving lives.

#WolvesCovidResponse #WolveseSports

The full list of fixtures and results is as follows…

Tuesday 5th May - Round One

  • 3pm | Spencer Owen (West Ham) 1-3 Ryan Sessegnon (Spurs)
  • 4pm | Charlie Taylor (Burnley) 2-1 Michael Ward (Arsenal)
  • 5pm | Rolando Aarons (Newcastle) 1-4 Jofra Archer (Man Utd)

TBC - Round One

  • James Maddison (Leicester) v Callum Wilson (AFC Bournemouth)

Wednesday 6th May - Last 16

  • 3pm | Jose Enrique (Liverpool) v Keinan Davis (Aston Villa)
  • 4pm | Morgan Gibbs-White (Wolves) v Aaron Connolly (Brighton)
  • 5pm | Tony Bellew (Everton) v Michael Obafemi (Southampton)
  • 6pm | Billy Gilmour (Chelsea) v Andre Gray (Watford)

Thursday 7th May - Last 16

  • Max Aarons (Norwich) v West Ham/Spurs
  • John Egan (Sheff Utd) v Newcastle/Man Utd
  • Phil Foden (Man City) v Burnley/Arsenal
  • Max Meyer (Crystal Palace) v Leicester/AFC Bournemouth

Friday 8th May - Quarter-final

Saturday 9th May - Semi-final & Final