Wolves into U19 international tournament semis

Wolves are into the semi-finals of the under-19 international tournament in Switzerland after topping the group stages on Friday.

Having lifted the Premier League 2 Division 2 Play-Off Final trophy at Molineux on Monday evening, Wolves' scholars are looking to add even more silverware to their cabinet this weekend.

Led by under-18 head coach Steve Davis, a 17-man squad made up of the older members of the under-18s and the younger under-23 players have jetted out to Altstatten and are unbeaten after their first day of football.

Wolves have been drawn into Group B, alongside Germany's Union Berlin, Olympiacos from Greece and Swiss side FC St Gallen, with each match consisting of two halves of 20 minutes.

The young Wolves faced Union Berlin in the opening fixture of the competition, drawing 1-1 thanks to a Oliver Tipton equaliser in the 33rd minute after Union had opened the scoring early on.

Olympiacos awaited in match two, with Wolves earning a comprehensive 3-0 win as two Tipton goals came either side of a Tyler Roberts finish.

Wolves topped their group with a 1-0 win over St Gallen, as captain Christian Marques - back in the country of his birth - netted the only goal of the game after eight minutes.

Into the semi-finals and Wolves will play the runner-up of Group A, Danish side Odense BK, from 12pm (UK time) as the teams compete for a place in the final, where either Olympiacos or Mexican giants Club America will await.


Wolves 1-1 Union Berlin

Storer, Birtwistle, Kaleta, Marques, Kandola, Keto-Diyawa, Tipton, Griffiths, Roberts, Hesketh, Fraser.

Olympiacos 0-3 Wolves

Storer, Birtwistle, Tipton, Marques, Lembikisa, Keto-Diyawa, Ojinnaka, Griffiths, Roberts, Farmer, Fraser.

Wolves 1-0 FC St Gallen

Storer, Kaleta, Tipton, Maques, Kandola, Lembikisa, Ojinnaka, Griffiths, Roberts, Hesketh, Farmer.


1. Palmi Arinbjornsson

2. Harry Birtwistle

3. Dexter Lembikisa

4. Oliver Tipton

5. Christian Marques

6. Kam Kandola

7. Tyler Roberts

8. Harvey Griffiths

9. Nathan Fraser

10. Owen Hesketh

11. Owen Farmer

12. Aaron Keto-Diyawa

13. Jimmy Storer

14. Josh Esen

15. Temple Ojinnaka

16. Ackeme Francis-Burrell

17. Marvin Kaleta