Skip to main content

Wolves Mark 125 Years At Molineux

PUBLISHED

17:14 26th August 2014

Around the home fixture versus Blackburn Rovers (Saturday, 30th August 2014, Kick-off: 3:00pm), Wolves are celebrating a very special milestone.

· Kids for a quid in Wolves Museum
· Special Molineux photography exhibition in the Wolves Museum
· Fans asked to tweet their pictures of Molineux down the years using #molineux125  

It is 125 years since Wolves played their first League game at Molineux, a 2-0 victory versus Notts County on 7th September 1889. Since then Molineux has established itself as one of the most iconic football stadiums in the country, providing the backdrop to countless footballing memories. See a full Molineux timeline at the bottom of this story. 

To celebrate the occasion, there will be an exhibition of Molineux photography in the Wolves Museum on 
Friday 29th August (9:00am till 5:00p - last entry at 3:30pm), 
Saturday, 30th August (9:00am till 90 minutes before Kick-off) and 
Sunday 31st August (10:00am till 4:00pm – last entry at 2:30pm). 
And during the period of the exhibition, there will be a Wolves Museum special offer of £1 for kids, £4 for adults and £8 for a Family Ticket (2 adults and 2 children) – providing a great opportunity for all the family to enjoy the facility, which continues to receive great feedback from supporters of all ages. (Click here to buy tickets online).

Wolves are also producing a special commemorative programme to mark the anniversary, still at the normal price of £3. 

During the week, Wolves will be asking supporters to tweet their pictures taken at Molineux down the years – using the hastag #molineux125. Whether they’ve been taken inside or outside of Molineux, Wolves want to see as many pictures as possible. 
Matt Grayson, Head of Marketing & Communications, Wolves, said, “Molineux is not only a special place for Wolves fans, but it is right up there as one of the most iconic stadiums in English football. “We’re celebrating the anniversary in a number of ways, but we hope as many fans as possible take advantage of the special kids for a quid offer in the Wolves Museum. “It tells the story of Molineux – and the Club as a whole – and we are also producing a special exhibition of Molineux photography, which will run from the 29th August to the 31st August.” 

Molineux Timeline 
1889 Wolves make Molineux Grounds their permanent home a year after being one of the original twelve members of the Football League, the world’s first such competition. 
1891 First full international is played on the ground as England beat Ireland 6–1 with Wolves’ Billy Rose in goal and Jack Brodie also in the team. 
1903 England beat Ireland 4–0 and again Wolves supply the keeper – Tommy Baddeley 
1919 Molineux is closed because of crowd trouble and Wolves have to play two home fixtures at the Hawthorns. 
1925 Waterloo Road Stand is built and officially opened by League president John McKenna 
1930 The old Cowshed stand goes as the North Bank is re-aligned parallel to the pitch 
1932 With Wolves back in the First Division, the Molineux Street stand, with its iconic seven gabled roofs is built. 
1935 South Bank is remodelled with a cover at the rear and capacity for 30,000 standing fans. 
1936 Wales beat England 2–1 in a midweek international with Wolves’ Bryn Jones a scorer for the visitors. 
1939 Record attendance – 61,315 to see Liverpool beaten 4–1 in the fifth round of the FA Cup. 
1953 Floodlights installed at Molineux and the first game sees South Africa beaten 3–1. 
1954 Probably the most famous game in the club’s history as the mighty Hungarians of Honved, Ferenc Puskas and Co, are beaten 3–2. 
1956 England beat Denmark 5–2 in a World Cup qualifier with goals scored by the ill-fated Manchester United duo of Tommy Taylor (3) and Duncan Edwards (2). 
1976 England play their first ever game at under-21 level. It’s a goalless draw against Wales. 
1979 The Molineux Stand (subsequently renamed the John Ireland and later the Steve Bull) is built as first phase of a re-development which is never completed as cash crisis hits club. 
1985 In the wake of the Bradford fire, Molineux’s Waterloo Road and North Bank stands are closed. 
1986 Wolverhampton Council and developers Gallaghers step in to save club and the decaying ground after financial traumas of previous years. 
1990 Sir Jack Hayward buys the club and pledges to rebuild Molineux. 
1993 The re-build is completed with the opening of the Jack Harris Stand, following on the Stan Cullis Stand on the North Bank and the Billy Wright Stand on the Waterloo Road side. 
2013 The Stan Cullis Stand is re-built – first phase in the construction of a bigger Molineux.

    Related Articles